Encouraging Health and Happiness

Employee Spotlight: Bruce Gillespie

Bruce2-crop

Group Fitness Instructor and Triathlon Enthusiast, Bruce Gillespie shares a glimpse of his life and passion for fitness. 

Magnuson Athletic Club: Where did you grow up as a child? If not Seattle, how did you end up in the Emerald City?
Bruce: I grew up in Lewiston, ID but attended college in Texas for a couple years. Moving to Southern California and working for Restaurants Unlimited, I was eventually transferred to Seattle.

MAC: Before instructing Group Fitness, what did you do?
Bruce: After working in the restaurant business for 20 years, I changed gears and did massage therapy, then became a stay at home dad when my first son was born.

MAC: How long have you been involved with fitness and what enticed you to become a Group Fitness instructor?
Bruce: I have been involved in athletics my entire life through high school and college sports. I got interesting in Triathlons in 1998 and a few years later I began to teach spin classes. I started to instruct spin class with the hopes of bringing my expertise in cycling into the classroom to improve others’ cycling skills. Recently I have started a triathlon training class called TriMAC, where I teach people to be more comfortable with open water swim, the biking portion of a triathlon, and running.

MAC: What are you passionate about?
Bruce: My faith, family, and fitness. I have a lovely wife Amber and two boys Maximus (11) and Will (9). I really enjoy competing in triathlons from the sprint to the full Ironman distances.

MAC: Can you share some of your experiences while participating in triathlons?
Bruce: After several years of competing in Sprint and Olympics triathlon’s, I moved up and did a few years of half Ironman distances and finally in 2009 I did my frist Ironman and completed two more in 2012. My Ironman goal was to compete in the world championships in Kona, Hawaii. I am happy to say that I have competed and finished in the top of my age group in every length of the triathlon from Sprint to Ironman, and I am looking forward to my first Exterra Off-Road Triathlon this summer!

MAC: Do you have any tips or tricks to share with those who are interested in participating in triathlons?
Bruce: Anyone who is interest in triathlons, I think it is a great sport and has a supportive community. Be sure to find a good coach! Triathlons are a fun and rewarding sport and to perform your best you want to find a coach who can help you design a plan, help with nutrition, strength training and race day strategy. This is why I developed my TriMAC class, so people have an opportunity to come and test their fitness level and gain experience and confidence in the sport. The TriMAC class is great for new comers to get comfortable with preparing for their first triathlon. There are opportunities to ask any questions they may have to make their first experience enjoyable and memorable. The class is also for the experience triathlete to test their limites so they can performa at their peak performance.

TriMAC with Bruce Gillespie!
Motivational Triathlon/Duathalon Training club that encourages you to do your best so you can perform your best! All levels welcome and encouraged to join.

Join trainer Bruce Gillespie for one event or all three!
5:00pm Swim
6:00pm Cycle
7:15pm Run

Additionally, there will be open swims every Saturday morning at 8:00 a.m.

For more information on TriMAC, contact us today for more info –TriMAC@macseattle.com

Comments are closed.