Encouraging Health and Happiness

Connect With Our Staff: Gian-Carlo Rolander

If you’ve walked into Magnuson Athletic Club on a weekday afternoon, chances are you’ve crossed paths with Gian-Carlo Rolander.

Recognizable by his self-described “nerd glasses,” Gian-Carlo first discovered the MAC as a member, but soon decided it was a place he wanted to be a bigger part of. “From the moment I stepped into the MAC, I just really loved being here,” he says. “I already enjoy working out, but when you can do it in an environment like this, with the high ceilings and all the sunlight, it makes it even better.”

After graduating from the University of Washington, Gian-Carlo worked in the financial services industry and for a large internet retailer before coming to the MAC. Now a full-time employee, Gian-Carlo admits he gets teased about never wanting to leave. “Sometimes I’ll clock out after a shift and start talking to people, and before I know it, two hours have gone by. People tease me and tell me to go home, but I guess I just don’t really think of being here as work.”

When he’s not at the front desk, Gian-Carlo enjoys a variety of hobbies, including following UW sports, writing his Husky football blog called Tall, Dawg & Handsome, boating, taking trips–especially to visit family in Nicaragua–and restoring his prized 1970 International Scout. Asked to pick a favorite hobby, he says his favorite pastime is simply meeting new people and making new friends. “I like to talk,” he says, “It’s fun to meet new people and hear about their experiences. It helps me gain perspective on my own life and understand what’s really important to me. Sometimes people can surprise you, even if you see them every day. Hopefully I can do the same for them.”

So next time you see Gian-Carlo, make sure to give him a wave!

Comments are closed.