Encouraging Health and Happiness

Why do you eat junk food?

YOU CANNOT OUTTRAIN A CRAPPY DIET! I became a health coach for myself and my clients, to reach my goals and satisfy my curiosities – and to get other people better results.  One constant frustration of mine that my clients work on in health coaching – Is preparing healthy meals.  You know you should, but why don’t so many of us?

Scroll down  and click on NY Times Opinion to read : ” Is Junk food really cheaper”

Great article by Mark Bittman of The MinimalistIncludes Insights such as:“The addiction to processed food is the result of decades of vision and hard work by the industry. For 50 years, says David A. Kessler, former commissioner of the Food and Drug Administration and author of “The End of Overeating,” companies strove to create food that was “energy-dense, highly stimulating, and went down easy. They put it on every street corner and made it mobile, and they made it socially acceptable to eat anytime and anyplace. They created a food carnival, and that’s where we live. And if you’re used to self-stimulation every 15 minutes, well, you can’t run into the kitchen to satisfy that urge.”HOW do you change a culture? The answers, not surprisingly, are complex. “Once I look at what I’m eating,” says Dr. Kessler, “and realize it’s not food, and I ask ‘what am I doing here?’ that’s the start. It’s not about whether I think it’s good for me, it’s about changing how I feel. And we change how people feel by changing the environment.”

Is Junk Food Really Cheaper?

by Mark Bittman
NY Times Opinion

THE “fact” that junk food is cheaper than real food has become a reflexive part of how we explain why so many Americans are overweight, particularly those with lower incomes. I frequently read confident statements like, “when a bag of chips is cheaper than a head of broccoli …” or “it’s more affordable to feed a family of four at McDonald’s than to cook a healthy meal for them at home.”

Comments are closed.