Encouraging Health and Happiness

Member Spotlight: Kevin Bergsrud

Kevin Bergsrud

Kevin is a Seattle Parks & Recreation Enterprise Division Planner. He has been instrumental in managing public-private partnerships to revitalize Magnuson Park. Kevin and his wife, Anne, are two of our charter members, and their daughter enjoys going to the MiniMAC and Parent Date Night.

MAC:  Tell us a little bit about where you grew up and how you ended up in Seattle.
KB: Grad school at UW brought me to Seattle. First time visited Seattle over an Indian Summer weekend in 1989. I was hooked, what a fantastic city! I grew up in Phoenix. While I don’t have bad memories of the hot summer weather, I did dream a lot about what it would be like to live somewhere with fog and rain. Now I know!
MAC:  How did you learn about the MAC and what got you to become a member?
KB: Knew of the MAC even before it opened. My wife and I joined because the interiors are so bright (daylight), spacious, and can’t forget MiniMAC for our daughter.
MAC:  What is your favorite feature/part of the MAC?
KB: Working out while looking out over Lake Washington. Favorite equipment includes the Precor Motion Trainer, adjustable pull-up bar. I really, really want to do a Body Pump class but haven’t gotten my schedule coordinated.
MAC:  What do you enjoy doing outside of the MAC?
KB:  If we’d get a real summer this year, I’d be riding my bike. Otherwise I’m always striving to learn a bit more Spanish.
MAC:  If you could trade places with any one, living or deceased, for a day, who would it be?
KB: It would be a bit of trading places, a bit of time travel. I’d like to visit my grandfather before he emigrated from Norway, get his perspective, see what Norway was like in the early 1900s.
Comments are closed.